The Complete Stories, 第 2 卷

Doubleday, 1992 - 560 頁
With more than 440 books to his credit, Asimov is undoubtedly the most prolific and best-known name in science fiction. This second volume in the series which will ultimately bring together all of his short fiction contains 40 science fiction stories illustrating the diversity of his formidable talent.


讀者評論 - 撰寫評論

The complete stories

用戶評語  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Containing the collections "Earth Is Room Enough'' and "Nine Tomorrows'' from the 1950s as well as the more recent "Nightfall and Other Stories,'' this volume of 46 stories begins an ambitious project ... 閱讀評論全文

Review: The Complete Stories, Vol. 2 (Cuentos completos #2)

用戶評語  - Sarai Dominguez - Goodreads

Love the short stories! this is what got me hooked on Sci-fi books! 閱讀評論全文


The Hazing
Death Sentence
Blind Alley

23 個其他區段未顯示


關於作者 (1992)

Isaac Asimov was born in Petrovichi, Russia, on January 2, 1920. His family emigrated to the United States in 1923 and settled in Brooklyn, New York, where they owned and operated a candy store. Asimov became a naturalized U.S. citizen at the age of eight. As a youngster he discovered his talent for writing, producing his first original fiction at the age of eleven. He went on to become one of the world's most prolific writers, publishing nearly 500 books in his lifetime. Asimov was not only a writer; he also was a biochemist and an educator. He studied chemistry at Columbia University, earning a B.S., M.A. and Ph.D. In 1951, Asimov accepted a position as an instructor of biochemistry at Boston University's School of Medicine even though he had no practical experience in the field. His exceptional intelligence enabled him to master new systems rapidly, and he soon became a successful and distinguished professor at Columbia and even co-authored a biochemistry textbook within a few years. Asimov won numerous awards and honors for his books and stories, and he is considered to be a leading writer of the Golden Age of science fiction. While he did not invent science fiction, he helped to legitimize it by adding the narrative structure that had been missing from the traditional science fiction books of the period. He also introduced several innovative concepts, including the thematic concern for technological progress and its impact on humanity. Asimov is probably best known for his Foundation series, which includes Foundation, Foundation and Empire, and Second Foundation. In 1966, this trilogy won the Hugo award for best all-time science fiction series. In 1983, Asimov wrote an additional Foundation novel, Foundation's Edge, which won the Hugo for best novel of that year. Asimov also wrote a series of robot books that included I, Robot, and eventually he tied the two series together. He won three additional Hugos, including one awarded posthumously for the best non-fiction book of 1995, I. Asimov. "Nightfall" was chosen the best science fiction story of all time by the Science Fiction Writers of America. In 1979, Asimov wrote his autobiography, In Memory Yet Green. He continued writing until just a few years before his death from heart and kidney failure on April 6, 1992.